This link skips through to the page content, for screen readersDepartment of Transport logoPublic Transport
Railway Safety Commission

The Railway Safety Commission is the independent safety regulator for railways in Ireland.

Break line image
12 June 2006

The Railway Safety Commission (RSC) was established on 1st January 2006 under the Railway Safety Act. In the context of the European Railway Safety Directive (2004/49/EC) (Railway Safety Directive) the Railway Safety Commission is both the National Safety Authority and National Investigation Body.

The RSC has 4 main functions:

  • safety approval
  • safety auditing and monitoring
  • safety enforcement
  • investigation

Information regarding the role and functions of the Railway Safety Commission is available at

The Railway Accident Investigation Unit


The Railway Accident Investigation Unit (RAIU) is a functionally independent investigation unit within the Railway Safety Commission. The purpose of an investigation by the RAIU is to improve railway safety by establishing, in so far as possible , the cause or causes of an accident or incident with a view to making recommendations for the avoidance of accidents in the future, or otherwise for the improvement of railway safety. It is not the purpose of an investigation to attribute blame or liability.The RAIU's investigations are carried out in accordance with the Railway Safety Act 2005 and European railway safety directive 2004/49/EC.

RAIU can be contacted by e-mail  at  and information on our investigations, including the published reports, can be found on our website