This link skips through to the page content, for screen readersDepartment of Transport logoDepartment of Transport
Marine Awards Scheme
Marine Awards 2004
Break line image
4 December 2006


47 Awards Presented to Selfless Rescuers in Dublin Castle, Tuesday 7 December 2004

Marine Minister Pat the Cope Gallagher, T.D., hailed the bravery of those involved in marine rescue when presenting the 3rd Marine Meritorious Awards in Dublin Castle on Tuesday 7th december 2004.

Minister Gallagher said, Today is a celebration of true heroism.  We are here to appreciate and honour the selfless deeds of people who have risked their lives in saving others.  All aspects of search and rescue are represented in todays ceremony courage, determination, perseverance and an unfailing willingness to help people in difficulty.  The international dimension of search and rescue activity is also evident with a Polish Naval crew receiving an award and rescues involving French, German and Argentine nationals.  Search and rescue truly knows no boundaries.  I salute all those honoured here today and admire their courage in the face of adversity and their willingness to put the lives of others before their own.

We also pay tribute to those who have made an outstanding contribution to our marine sector, in both the safety of human life and the protection of our marine environment.

back to top

The Marine Meritorious Award Scheme provides a formal system for the granting of Marine Awards, Testimonials or Certificates of Honour recognising acts of marine bravery or of outstanding merit.  The scheme acts as a form of recognition or the making of a statement honouring marine meritorious service or outstanding marine gallantry or achievement for search and rescue (SAR).  A total of 47 awards were made today by Minister Gallagher

Minister Gallagher added, As Minister with responsibility for marine matters, one of my key priorities is improved water safety.  We have made many improvements in this regard over the last number of years but we must not become complacent.  Whether it be legislative change, new codes of practice, media campaigns or improved equipment, I will continue to promote the water safety agenda and to ensure further improvements in this important area.

The Minister concluded, The best assistance we can give our emergency services personnel is to put our own safety first every time.  Be safe wear the correct safety equipment, have the required safety equipment on board your vessel and receive proper training for your pursuit.  By not putting your own life at risk, you will not be putting the lives of othersat risk.

back to top

3rd Marine Meritorious Awards

Irish Coast Guard Long Service Awards

  • Peter Sinnott (Retired Area Officer), Courtown, Co. Wexford, 40 yrs service
  • Mark Sinnott, Deputy Area Officer, Courtown, Co. Wexford, 22 yrs service
  • Martin Redmond, Volunteer, Courtown, Co. Wexford, 44 yrs service
  • Patrick Hamilton, Area Officer, Glandore, Co. Cork, 37 yrs service
  • Timothy Donoghue, Volunteer, Glandore, Co. Cork, 44 yrs service
  • Michael O'Regan, Area Officer, Goleen, Co. Cork, 39 yrs service
  • Diarmuid Sheehan, Deputy Area Officer, Goleen, Co. Cork, 24 yrs service
  • Jerome Coughlan, Volunteer, Goleen, Co. Cork, 35 yrs service
  • Michael Pierce, Volunteer, Glenderry, Co. Kerry, 40 yrs service
  • Anthony Hehir, Volunteer, Glenderry, Co. Kerry, 23 yrs service
  • Michael Hehir, Volunteer, Glenderry, Co. Kerry, 22 yrs service
  • Patrick Hughes, Volunteer, Cleggan, Co. Galway, 23 yrs service
  • Michael McGarry, Divisional Controller, MRSC Malinhead, 23 yrs service
  • Peter Drake, Station Officer, MRSC Valentia, 24 yrs service
  • Declan Geoghegan, Dep. Div. Controller, MRCC Dublin, 20 yrs service
  • Tom Byrne, Station Officer, MRCC Dublin, 22 yrs service

back to top

Michael Heffernan Bronze Medal for Marine Gallantry

  • Garda Declan Dennehy, WexfordVicky Lyons, Dun Laoghaire
  • Sean Kinsella, Irishtown
  • Paul Byrne, Dublin Fireman
  • Allan Baldock, Dun Laoghaire
  • James Collins, Dun Laoghaire
  • Dariusz Symanski, Winchman, Polish Naval Service(accepted by Waldemar Domanski, Pilot)
  • Mary Gill, Westport
  • Helen Mulhall, Westport
  • Ann Heraty, Westport
  • Aidan Moloney, Cork
  • Dermot Spillane, Cork

back to top

Marine Gold Medal for Meritorious Service

  • The Irish Air Corps (accepted by General Officer Commanding, Brigadier General Ralph James)

back to top

Marine Bronze Medal for Meritorious Service

  • Tony Youlten, Lough Corrib
  • Neville Murphy, Winchman, Irish Coast Guard Shannon Helicopter
  • Capt. James Kelly, Dublin (Retired Chief Surveyor)
  • Seamus McLoughlin, Dublin
  • Frank Nolan, Tramore
  • Capt. Robert Goodbody & the Crew Irish Coast Guard Shannon Helicopter
  • Corporal Ciaran Smith, Irish Air Corps

back to top

Marine Ministerial Letter of Appreciation for Meritorious Service

  • Kevin Desmond, Wicklow
  • Seamus Doohan, Tory Island
  • Liam Rodgers, Tory Island
  • Peter Rodgers, Tory Island
  • The People of Tory Island
  • Commdt. Shane Bonner Air Corps Helicopter Crew
  • John OBrien, Dun Laoghaire Coast Guard
  • Polish Naval Service Helicopter Crew(accepted by Waldemar Domanski, Pilot)
  • John Walsh, Westport
  • Malcolm Redman, Cork
  • Grenville Savage, Cork

back to top